Skip to content

Why I Went Completely Vegetarian

July 5, 2012

About two years I gave up eating red meat and poultry for personal reasons. I have always loved animals, and I decided to just stop eating them one day.

I think there are a lot of health benefits to not eating meat, but that had nothing to do with my decision. Though I have felt like I’ve had much more energy, and just felt better in general.

But up until a few days ago I continued to include seafood in my diet. Not a lot, I was down to eating fish, and shellfish, only once or twice a month, if that, and only when I was out. However I’ve always felt like a hypocrite for eating it, continuing to somehow justify eating fish, after I had given up all other meat. But it was easy having fish as a safety net while eating out, and it still tasted good.

Then a week or so ago I was at a restaurant, and none of the vegetarian options appealed to me, so I ordered a fish dish. It didn’t taste bad, but I didn’t really like it either. A few days after that I was out somewhere else, and had a shrimp dinner. It was the first time I’d had shrimp in months. I once again thought it was fine, but nothing I really wanted to eat. After both meals I didn’t feel sick exactly, but I did feel groggy almost, and not satisfied the way I usually do after eating.

Between making myself feel like a hypocrite, and just not enjoying seafood anymore, I decided it would just be better to not eat it anymore.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

