Skip to content

Future Trip Plans

July 14, 2012

I’m a planner. I like to plan things well in advance before they actually happen. I’m talking about realistic things that I know I have a good chance of actually doing. One thing I especially like to plan in advance, are my Disney trips, and with my new running and marathon goals, I’ve been coming up with trip plans for 2014 and 2015 to travel when the marathons happen.

The first of three trips will be in February 2014, and if the dates stay the same year to year the Princess Half Marathon should be on Sunday the 23rd, (with a 5K on the 22nd, and a fitness expo on the 21st.)

The second trip will be in November of 2014, and will be for the Wine and Dine Half Marathon. If weekends stay the same, though this seems to change a bit more, especially with the addition of the Tower of Terror 10-miler pushing it later this year, but right now I’m looking at the Wine and Dine Half Marathon being on Saturday November 8th 2014. This trip would actually be the easiest to plan, so it doesn’t really matter when the marathon is actually held. I always go to Disney in the fall, so whether it be earlier and in October, or sticks with the November schedule, it won’t matter.

The last of the three trips will be for the Walt Disney World Full Marathon weekend, which runs from Thursday January 8th until Sunday the 11th, with the Full Marathon being on Sunday, a 5K on Friday, a half marathon on Saturday, and a bunch of other stuff going on simultaneously.

Not only will that plan allow me to be in Disney for all the races I want to run, but it also gets me there for the holiday specials, though that will require some luck with the dates for the Osborne lights and Mickey’s Very Merry Christmas Parties. I can’t be simple and just go to Disney to run, I need to keep up with everything else too. But if dates for all of that stay the same as well, I should be able to cram some of that in as all those events start when I should be there for the Wine and Dine Half Marathon, and finish what I started seeing when I return for the Full Marathon in January.

I also wanted to go to Disney for my 30th birthday. With the Princess Half Marathon, I’ll be going a week late, but that’s okay with me. I’ll avoid President’s Day crowds, and will have something to look forward to, so on my 30th birthday, I’ll be able to focus on “I’m going to Disney in a week,” rather then, “crap, I’m 30.”

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

