Skip to content

30 Day Vegan Challenge

August 1, 2012

Today one of my favorite vegan author, podcaster, and animal rights activist, Colleen Patrick-Goudreau, launched a new website; http://www.30dayveganchallenge.com I immediately signed up first thing this morning. I think she’s a wonderful person, and she has a completely non-judgmental attitude, and gives a much needed voice to the animals.

I’ve tried being vegan on and off for the last year and a half or so, but hopefully with this challenge I can just be vegan once and for all. I have other hopes as well, I’m also reading Kathy Freston’s “The Lean,” which follows a vegan diet for 30 days as well, introducing one new thing to do each day, but instead of it just being about veganism, it also focuses on the health aspect. (Not that Colleen doesn’t encourage healthy eating, and she repeatedly talks about the health benefits of a varied diet filled with whole plant-based colorful foods.) But Kathy’s book really takes the health thing to a whole new level. Though for personal reasons, I wish to be vegan for animal right reasons then health, (though the health benefits are amazing,) so I’m focusing more on the vegan aspect of the challenge, instead of just getting healthier. The concept of introducing one new thing each day, makes it easy to follow. For instance, today is day one, and it’s just to drink more water.

There’s also a blog, http://www.vegcookbookclub.com, that features cooking from one specific cookbook each month. Though I only found the site recently, since I happen to own August’s cookbook – Let Them Eat Vegan, by Dreena Burton, I’ve decided to try cooking from it as much as possible this month.

So there’s my plans for August, be vegan, more specifically be a healthy vegan, and try to cook from one of the many cookbooks I own as much as possible. I’m praying I have the strength and willpower to get through the month without being tempted by things I should not eat. Hopefully this is it for me though, and I can just be vegan from now on.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

